Dapeng Lou (CHN)


lou.jpg (3214 bytes)
Date of birth 2 October 1936
Nationality Chinese 
Civil status Married - 2 children
Languages Chinese, English, French 
Sports Administration official (since 1966)
Position(s) held within the IAAF
IAAF Vice-President since 1999
IAAF Council Member since 1984
Chairman of the IAAF Competition Commission
Competitive sports career:
Former National Record holder and Collegiate Champion in hurdles 200m / 400m

Past and present offices held:
1959 - 1966
Involved in Athletics Coaching programme
1982 - 1997
Vice-President of Chinese Athletic Association
1983 - date
Vice-President of Asian Amateur Association
1986 - date
Vice-President of General Association of Asian Sports Federation
Chairman of Athletic Commission of the 11th Asian Games
1994 - 1997
Executive Commissioner- State Sports Commission of China
1994 - date
Vice President of Chinese Olympic Committee
President of the Chinese Athletics Association
Technical Delegate:
1986, 1994, 1998

Asian Games
1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1998
Asian Championships
1988, 1992, 2000
Olympic Games
1995, 1997
World Championships
1993, 1995
South East Asian Games
World Junior Championships
World Indoor Championships

To find out more about Dapeng Lou, click here to read the interview published in the March 2000 edition of the IAAF Newsletter.

council.gif (978 byte)
President (8 November 1999 -)
Lamine Diack (SEN)

Senior Vice President
Dr Arne Ljungqvist (SWE)

Vice Presidents
Dapeng Lou (CHN)
Dr. Helmut Digel (GER)
Amadeo Francis (PUR)

Honorary Treasurer
H Robert H Stinson (GBR)

General Secretary
Istvan Gyulai (HUN)

William Bailey (AUS)
Sergey Bubka (UKR)
Leonard Chuene (RSA)
Nawal El Moutawakel - Bennis (MAR)
Alpheus Finlayson (BAH)
R. Gesta De Melo (BRA)
Gianni Gola (ITA)
Robert Hersh (USA)
Abby Hoffman (CAN)
A. Juantorena Danger (CUB)
Suresh Kalmadi (IND)
Isaiah Kiplagat (KEN)
Neville McCook (JAM)
C. Moreno Bravo (MEX)
José Maria Odriozola (ESP)
Jung-Ki Park (KOR)
Jean Poczobut (FRA)
Jamel Simohamed (ALG)
Igor Ter-Ovanesian (RUS)
Taizo Watanabe (JPN)
Hansjörg Wirz (SUI)